Welcome to Schools Cycling South Africa (SCSA)

This website is the home of the official governing body of Schools Cycling in South Africa.

The main objectives of Schools Cycling South Africa:

  • Establish cycling as official Schools Sport in Primary and Secondary Schools working closely with the Department of Education (DOE) and Sport and Recreation in South Africa (SRSA).
  • Encourage, promote, develop, grow and administer cycling as official Schools Sport through mass participation to establish the love for cycling as School Sport.
  • Training School Teachers and Parent representatives as Team Managers, Coaches and Commissaires.
  • Set-up of Regulations and Policies for various cycling disciplines and effective communication to Schools.
  • Recommendations of Schools Cycling recognition criteria.
  • Ensure safe, fair and well organised Schools events.
  • Transformation and development programmes.

Annelize Ziehl-Owens,
SCSA President

Associate member of Cycling South Africa


Annelize Ziehl-Owens
President

The SCSA National Structure


President: Annelize Ziehl-Owens
+27 83 261 9921, president@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Vice-president: Merita van Wyk
+27 82 576 6193,​ vicepresident@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Technical Delegate: Danie Steyn
+27 83 410 3675,​ technical@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

National Secretary: Joanita van Staden
+27 84 602 2271,​ secretary@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Treasurer: Linky Cilliers
+27 82 923 7935,​ treasurer@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

National Road Co-ordinator: George Stroebel
+27 82 440 2346,​ road@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Coaching Co-ordinator: Elize Nieuwenhuizen
+27 82 565 4405,​ coaching@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Provincial Structures

 

Gauteng South
Gauteng Provincial Chairperson:

Paola Damilano
083 252 3752
paola@africangogo.com

 

Western Cape
Western Cape Provincial Chairperson

Annelize Ziehl-Owens
083 261 9921
chairperson@wcschoolscycling.co.za

Linky Cilliers (secretary)
082 923 7935
secretary@wcschoolscycling.co.za

 

Gauteng North
Gauteng Provincial Chairperson:

Merita van Wyk
082 576 6193
vanwykmerita@gmail.com

 

Limpopo
Limpopo Provincial Chairperson:

Johan van Dijkhorst
082 740 8740
akkedis@dirtydouble.co.za

Natasja Ehlers (secretary)
015 293 0895
natasja.ehlers@gmail.com

 

North West
North West Provincial Chairperson:

Johan van Eeden
083 679 4699
jbve@lantic.net

Brenda van Eeden (secretary)
084 510 4453
brendave@lantic.net

 

Kwazulu-Natal
Kwazulu Natal Provincial Chairperson:

Tim Keep
083 400 7123
schools@kznmtb.co.za

Rebecca van der Linde (secretary)
082 896 6864
info@kznmtb.co.za

 

Mpumalanga
Mpumalanga Provincial Chairperson

Francois McGill
083 630 1532
mcgill@worldonline.co.za

Bianca van Wyk (secretary)
071 330 4105
biancavanwyk01@gmail.com

 

Northern Cape
Northern Cape Provincial Chairperson

Wimpie Geyer
082 899 8970
cyclealp@iafrica.com

Erika Venter (secretary)
084 552 2063
erika@bthestarur.co.za

 

Southern Cape
Southern Cape Provincial Chairperson

Ryan Habib
082 945 4569
habib@oakhill.co.za

Juan Botes (event organizer)
071 678 7147
juan@chaingangevents.co.za

 

Free State
Free State Provincial chairperson:

Juan van den Berg
083 406 9424
Juan@gc.co.za

Reanda van Pletzer (secretary)
072 952 2750
Reandavp@gmail.com

 

Eastern Cape
Eastern Cape Provincial chairperson:

Gerhard Spies - East London
082 305 1744
spiesglv@gmail.com

Luca Fanicchi - Port Elizabeth
083 777 3326
lfanicchi@alfordsystems.com

Commissaires Supporting Documents

Policies

Documents

Rules and Regulations

Events Calendar

Gallery

New title

FAQ

Do Schools need to pay affiliation fee?

Yes, all public and independent (private schools) of different Provinces need to pay affiliation fee to become members of SCSA.

Do I need a Cycling South Africa (CSA) cycling licence to participate?

Schools Cycling South African (SCSA) is an associate member of Cycling South Africa. If you are an official learner at an official South African public or independent (private) school, you automatically qualify to participate in SCSA events you are invited to.

Partners

SPUR SCHOOLS MOUNTAIN BIKE LEAGUE

NATIONAL SPONSORS

National Partners