Welcome to Schools Cycling South Africa (SCSA)

This website is the home of the official governing body of Schools Cycling in South Africa.

The main objectives of Schools Cycling South Africa:

  • Establish cycling as official Schools Sport in Primary and Secondary Schools working closely with the Department of Education (DOE) and Sport and Recreation in South Africa (SRSA).
  • Encourage, promote, develop, grow and administer cycling as official Schools Sport through mass participation to establish the love for cycling as School Sport.
  • Training School Teachers and Parent representatives as Team Managers, Coaches and Commissaires.
  • Set-up of Regulations and Policies for various cycling disciplines and effective communication to Schools.
  • Recommendations of Schools Cycling recognition criteria.
  • Ensure safe, fair and well organised Schools events.
  • Transformation and development programmes.

Annelize Ziehl-Owens,
SCSA President

Associate member of Cycling South Africa


Annelize Ziehl-Owens
President

The SCSA National Structure
Management

President: Annelize Ziehl-Owens
+27 83 261 9921, president@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Vice-president: Merita van Wyk
+27 82 576 6193,​ vicepresident@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

National Secretary: Linky Cilliers
+27 84 602 2271,​ secretary@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Treasurer: Linky Cilliers
+27 82 923 7935,​ treasurer@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Transformation & Development

Mzwa Gumbi - Chairperson
+27 83 678 3193
mgumbi@mzwaprop.co.za

Sipho Madolo - Vice Chairperson
+27 83 966 7989
siphorider@gmail.com

Vincent Nteta
+27 78 8778576
vincent.nteta@mbekoecoclub.org

Darryll Viljoen
+27 71 876 7189
chairpersonnmbd@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Nina Jordaan
+27 83 226 8102
chairpersonfs@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Percy Modiselle
+27 79 510 5277
percymod@statssa.gov.za

Executive Committee
Provincial Structures

 

Gauteng North
Gauteng Provincial Chairperson:

Tobias Lubbe
071 410 4299
chairpersongpn@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

 

Western Cape
Western Cape Provincial Chairperson

Annelize Ziehl-Owens
083 261 9921
president@schoolscyclingsa.co.za
chairperson@wcschoolscycling.co.za

Linky Cilliers (secretary)
082 923 7935
secretary@wcschoolscycling.co.za

 

Gauteng South
Gauteng Provincial Chairperson:

Neville Delport
072 278 5670
neville.delport@nories.co.za
nevilledelport@gmail.com

 

Limpopo
Limpopo Provincial Chairperson:

Johan van Dijkhorst
082 740 8740
chairpersonlp@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Natasja Ehlers (secretary)
015 293 0895
natasja.ehlers@gmail.com

 

North West
North West Provincial Chairperson:

Koos van Rooyen
082 334 2237
chairpersonnw@schoolscyclingsa.co.za
koosvr220875@gmail.com

 

Kwazulu-Natal
Kwazulu Natal Provincial Chairperson:

Tim Keep
083 400 7123
schools@kznmtb.co.za
timkeep@gmail.com

 

Mpumalanga
Mpumalanga Provincial Chairperson

Brad Shuttleworth
082 784 1803
brad@forestrysolutions.net

Danie Botha (secretary)
083 226 7559
danie@hychem.co.za

 

Free State
Free State Provincial chairperson:

Nina Jordaan
083 226 8102
chairpersonfs@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Nina Jordaan (secretary)
083 226 8102
secretaryfs@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

 

Southern Cape
Southern Cape Provincial Chairperson

Ryan Habib
082 945 4569
chairpersonsc@schoolscyclingsa.co.za
ryanarie@gmail.com

 

Eastern Cape
Eastern Cape Provincial Chairperson:

Gerhard Spies - Amathole District
082 305 1744
chairpersonad@schoolscyclingsa.co.za
spiesglv@gmail.com

Darryll Viljoen - Nelson Mandela Bay District
071 876 7189
chairpersonnmbd@schoolscyclingsa.co.za
darryll.viljoen@gmail.com

 

Northern Cape
Northern Cape Provincial Chairperson

Kobus Burger
063 777 4766
chairpersonnc@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Mandie Burger (secretary)
072 457 3056
secretarync@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

SCSA accept the following coaches qualifications

  • SCSA certified coaches
  • UCI certified coaches
  • BICP certified coaches

Qualified SCSA Level 1 Coaches

Coaching

Schools Coaching Commissioner: Erica Green
+27 82 220 0002,​ coaching@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Schools Coaching Facilitator: Deon Carstens
+27 82 446 5089,​ coachingfac1@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Schools Coaching Facilitator: Marike Vreken
+27 82 927 5310,​ coachingfac2@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Technical Commissioner: Brad Shuttleworth
+27 82 784 1803,​ technical@schoolscyclingsa.co.za

Commissaires Supporting Documents

Policies

Documents

Rules and Regulations

Gallery

FAQ

Do Schools need to pay affiliation fee?

Yes, all public and independent (private schools) of different Provinces need to pay affiliation fee to become members of SCSA.

Do I need a Cycling South Africa (CSA) cycling licence to participate?

Schools Cycling South African (SCSA) is an associate member of Cycling South Africa. If you are an official learner at an official South African public or independent (private) affiliated School, you automatically qualify to participate in SCSA events you are invited to.

Partners

SPUR SCHOOLS MOUNTAIN BIKE LEAGUE

NATIONAL SPONSORS

National Partners